The history of Domain of Christin : the rebirth of a 12th century building
The history of the Domain of Christin begins at the end of the 12th century. The traces of its past is present in its authentic architecture, respected and preserved by the BURAY family, during their ownership (which finished end of 2014).
The ancient architecture highlighted in a complete renovation of the Domain’s buildings
Shards of bottles from the Middle Ages on the top of the stone wall of the old farm-fortress, dovecote-water tower with inscriptions “1189” in the stone, vaults, vaults, keystones, ribbed vaults, flying buttresses and stone troughs follow one another in the imposing Mas of the old farm-fortress, where beautiful and comfortable Hotel Apartments have recently been fitted.
Monumental stone fireplace, vaults and beams of the high ceilings are the remarkable elements of the Provençal farmhouse transformed into a bastide in the 1980s and today constituting our very comfortable Charming Cottages or Gîtes.
The old wine cellar with its 2 superimposed rows of patriarchal vats, and majestic frames culminating at almost 11 meters in height, is now rehabilitated into magnificent reception and meeting rooms.
Linked to viticulture, the intense economic activity of the past has left traces of the existence of many sheep and work horses at the Domaine of Christin.
Since the end of 2014, the new owners have revived this wine estate which was in the process of being abandoned: the vineyard which still remained was saved, the wastelands of the plots uprooted by the predecessors were sown to become beautiful meadows, the Norman breeding of Eric Buray’s SHIRE horses was transferred to the property, preceding the arrival of a few sheep in order to “close the loop”, then followed other animals, at the origin of the Educational Farm of the Estate…
The BURAY family has completed the Domaine of Christin farm with olive groves located a few kilometers away, one of which serves as a setting for the Villas L’Olivière and La Picholine.